WILL GOD GIVE YOU MORE THAN YOU CAN HANDLE?

August 21, 2012

 There is a phrase that I don’t toss around anymore.  That phrase is

“God won’t give you more than you can handle.”

Why don’t I juggle these words?  Because, frankly, they aren’t true.  Nowhere in the Bible does it appear.  Nowhere in the archives of theological history does it find voice.  Nowhere in my experience does it have stance.  God DOES give or allow more than I can handle.

Ask any mother who experiences a miscarriage.  Ask any dad who looses his career after 20 years with the company.  Ask any student who faces their first romantic breakup.  Life seems over – it seems unbearable – it seems too much to handle.

What God does say is that in those times of life explosion, He will be there with you.  When the weight of tragedy crushes down, He promises to hold you up.  He can and will give you peace even when you can’t handle the pressure.

Believe me, I know.  Having experienced every parent’s worst nightmare, I know.

Blogger Aaron Armstrong has a great post on this.  Click Here to read it.

How has God helped you when you couldn’t handle life’s struggles?

Peace!

8 responses to WILL GOD GIVE YOU MORE THAN YOU CAN HANDLE?

  1. 

    God most certianly WILL give you more than YOU can handle. However he will not give you more than HE can handle when you come to HIM.

  2. 
    maureen stoffel August 22, 2012 at 8:53 pm

    Finally a minister, a friend, a CHRISTIAN tells the truth………he does, but will walk with us!
    I love this!!!!

  3. 

    So true Pastor Todd! I say this all the time. but it’s not us handling it. It’s God being there with us to give us the strength. He is always there.

  4. 
    emidee@verizon.net August 21, 2012 at 9:49 am

    Thanks, Pastor Todd!!  Takes me back to 1984 when Nico

  5. 

    Just what i needed today Todd. We who follow the Lord know that he is always there in every circumstance and every so often we need to be reminded,

  6. 

    body{font-size:10pt;font-family:arial,sans-serif;background-color:#ffffff;color:black;}p{margin:0px;}

    Thanks, Todd. I read the blog and it’s excellent.  In fact, I have always heard and thought in my heart that God wouldn’t give us more than we could stand.  This is a keeper.

    • 

      Thanks Lynn. It’s a hard concept but the bigger blessing is knowing that even in the battle, He is right at our side!