A Time To Mourn


4678_194437205206_903050206_6935164_5297784_sMakenzie had a web; one that reached so many people in so many different parts of the county. Because ministry had moved our family so many times, Makenzie interacted with hundreds of different people. When she suddenly went home to heaven on June 3rd of this year, those hundreds – now thousands – needed to mourn; however that looked, whatever shaped that took, we all need to mourn the death of those we love.

Yesterday, Kellie and I were given the privilege, once again, of sharing Makenzie’s story with the people of Summit Community Church in Arizona. It was a time to weep and a time to laugh; A time to mourn and a time to dance. (I love that the NASB version of the Bible uses the word “dance”). As we spoke, I knew that somehow this was closure for our Arizona church family. This was their time to see, hear and hug on us as a way to say goodbye to one of their daughters of the church.

Each of us has to have a time to mourn. Whatever loss is woven into the fabric of our futures, each of us has to have a time to weep. In my minds eye, I see one of Makenzie’s fellow classmates from 8th grade, finally letting out all of his sorrow on Kellie’s shoulder as she wrapped him in her arms. I can also see one of my former ministry team leader’s tear-reddened eyes look deep into mine as she struggles to say how sorry and saddened she was. It is all good. It is all healthy. It is all part of the human experience called “loss.”

All of us need to have a time to mourn.

“There is a time for everything,
and a season for every activity under heaven:

a time to weep and a time to laugh,
a time to mourn and a time to dance,”  Ecclesiastes 3

Peace

todd

Life Changing Links …


2 thoughts on “A Time To Mourn

  1. Andi McDonald says:

    Todd and Kellie,

    I am so sorry I wasn’t able to see you yesterday. My heart sank as I saw Steve walk into church during the 1130 service since I knew I wouldn’t be able to make it out in time. But, more importantly, I’m glad Jason was able to be there. Thank you for spending time with him. Makenzie’s death has hit him in a way I never thought something like that would. They weren’t boyfriend-girlfriend, she wasn’t his best buddy, they hadn’t seen each other in how long even though they stayed in touch (apparently they were planning on going sky diving when he turned 18). But I think when a child dies all of us, especially other children, realize that our future on this earth is not promised to any of us. When we live out our faith in Jesus, as Makenzie did beautifully, and our life ends, the witness that continues is that our present and future life in Christ IS promised to all who believe. One of the things I have tried to impress on my kids, especially Jason, through this experience is the importance of sharing that same faith unashamedly through all aspects of our lives–words, actions, decisions, etc. My heart aches for Jason having to deal with the reality of death in this life. He’s plays things pretty close to the vest most of the time and so ends up like that sneeze that gets held back. I’m glad he got to sneeze yesterday. Thanks for being there with a “God bless you!”

  2. Caylin says:

    Hi Pastor Todd,
    I just wanted to again thank you and Ms. Kellie for coming to Senior Retreat! I think it helped our entire class mourn and give us a sense of closure. I still do not think this is thanks enough!
    Your blog today reminded me of a NOOMA that we watched in our NOOMA Bible study at school.
    I don’t know if you have seen the “Matthew” NOOMA. In it, Rob Bell had lost his friend Matthew and explains how, God mourns with us; He cries with us; He is sad with us. Although I don’t like to think of God sad, it is somewhat comforting to know that He is in this with us, not leaving us, but experiencing our grief and sadness and utter sorrow as well as our utter joy.
    I love you, your family, your blogs and just felt like sharing that with you today.
    Can’t wait to see y’all in November :]

    all my love, Caylin

What do YOU think?

