The Christmas Prayers


As a pastor, the Christmas season brought extra work loads, meetings and message preps.  Peel off my griping and complaining, however, and you’ll find my heart overjoyed and humbled at being one of the many to lead God’s people in celebrating the birthday of our King.  The shepherds, the angels, the road-trip to Bethlehem.  It is all so magical; even to your pastor.

For me, I love the “feel” of the worship services.  The words “Joyful,” “Adore,” and “Merry” drip from everyones lips as the candle light cuts through the darkness of the evening.

The worship story unfolds so smoothly until that one part of the service that seems to throw a wet blanket on the whole party.  The Prayers.  Before you cast the heretical stone, let me explain.  Look through any worship folder and eventually you see this part of the prayers announced that previously made my skin crawl.  Maybe as an insert; maybe as a simple statement; it is the prayer for those “who have lost loved ones.” I have so many theological complaints about the statement itself (Are they really lost?  Do I have the power to loose them? etc. etc. blah. blah. blah).  But reminding the congregation that this Christmas will be different from all others; that someone who lived in your life for many (or a few) years is not going to be around; that the person who lit up your heart and everyone else’s was gone, forever; this never seemed to be on my worship party event list.  One year, I was so disgusted with this dam that was set up in the river of our praise that I jumped over it all together.  (Come to think of it, I remember the pianist scrambling to the keyboard as I suddenly announced the final hymn… ah, good times).

This year, I have a different take on those prayers.  I still wish we wouldn’t point out the obvious fact that Makenzie will not be with our family this year (or any others), but I celebrate that she is eating birthday cake with our King Jesus.  I celebrate the truth that heaven is real and that I will be there with Makenzie to praise Him in person.  I look forward to holding up candles with her and secretly dripping wax on the wings of the angel Michael.  I can’t wait to harmonize with her as we belt out “Joyful, Joyful we adore thee!” to the One who made heaven possible for a sinner like me.

Our family has not lost Makenzie, this Christmas.  We all know exactly where she is.  But as we weep quietly in the back of the bough draped church, we will thank God for the past 18 times that we celebrated Christmas with our oldest daughter.  Merry Christmas, Makenzie; Merry Christmas.

Peace,

todd

Life Changing Links …

6 thoughts on “The Christmas Prayers

  1. Jeannine Furukawa says:

    Todd, Thank you for your recent article in The Witness! I
    cried at the the knowledge of your joy & sorrow! The Lord has given you the gift of speaking/writing in a way that brings glory & honor to Him! In 2003, my oldest grandson was crushed in a horrific accident! My joy has been knowing & seeing with the eyes of my heart; My Nick & my Jesus walking with their arms around one another, heads tipped back in joyful laughter! I praise & thank the Lord for
    His life, death & resurrection! I am content! My Jesus ever lives! I am content! Rejoicing with you in the faithfulness of our Lord, who carries us through the unbearable! Jeannine Furukawa, Trinity Lutheran Church/ Crown Point IN

  2. Becky says:

    Christmas has become so complicated for us hasn’t it? As usual, I sing with scrutiny all of the songs which used to be sung thoughtlessly. But I love the phrase in Joy to the World that says….. “He comes to make His blessing known…(as) Far as the curse is found”
    Thanks for including those prayers in your worship! They are necessary and I think God is pleased that you are caring for the heavy-hearted brothers and sisters in your congregation.

  3. Todd says:

    Each time you write, I weep. Beth is exactly right. We weep because we feel lost without Makenzie. We weep because there are still those that do not know Christ died for them or because they reject Him and cling to other things. Thanks, honey for your writing and I am thankful that the Lord blessed us as parents with the incredible gift that Makenzie was to us as a daughter.
    Love you, Kellie

  4. Beth Kothe says:

    Todd, I struggle with that phrase, too. My dad went home to heaven on March 11 this year. He isn’t lost. I know right where he is. He told me what he was seeing as heaven grew closer while cancer destroyed his body. I am the one who is lost without him–especially right now because he LOVED Christmas with his family. Wishing all of you peace this Christmas season and always.

What do YOU think?

