There’s Healing in the Speaking


For me, there is healing in speaking.  Each time I share Makenzie’s life with others, a small edge of pain is chipped away.  Like a sculptor’s chisel on the surface of marble, each “Makenzie” word I speak helps notch a groove in the stone of my ache.

And what has been amazing to me is that I see the Master Artist at work through the telling and re-telling of an amazing young woman whose life and death affected so many.  Stories still stream in.  Messages still ping her Facebook.  Emails still make account of how Makenzie has inspired people to re-prioritize their lives.   All bear witness to God’s ability to turn pain into purpose.

So I’ll tell her story again.  It stinks that I have a story like this to tell.  But as He gives me opportunity, I will accept the speaking engagements to talk about a life cut short in order for others to live long.

“I tell you the truth, unless a kernel of wheat falls to the ground and dies, it remains only a single seed. But if it dies, it produces many seeds.”  John 12:24

Peace,

todd

Life Changing Links …

4 thoughts on “There’s Healing in the Speaking

  1. Arick says:

    I heard about this blog from a friend of mine. I used to go to LSA and our family left for Massachusetts right before you guys came to LSA. Reading this has inspired me to be the type of person Makenzie would want everyone to be. Kindhearted, nice, and warm to everyone. It’s like she has impacted my life and I have just heard of her from old friends in Houston and reading this blog. I have told people up here her story and told them to read this to show how great of a girl she was. Thank you for sharing her story!

  2. Brad says:

    Thanks for sharing Makenzie’s story with us recently at Five Oaks. Your message made a very visible impact on those in attendance, both in a very challenging and encouraging way. Praise God!

What do YOU think?

