NEW BOOK! “REFINED – Turning Pain into Purpose”


I’m so excited to announce that coming

Monday, April 30, my new book titled,

“REFINED – Turning Pain into Purpose”

will be published on Kindle. The hard copy will be available June 3 which will include a discussion guide.

Here’s a snippet …

There are different levels of intensity when it comes to life’s difficulties. Some are inconveniences. Some are frustrations. Some are obstacles and some are real trials. Some of the pain that we experience in life is completely out of our control and some is self-inflicted.

I remember as a kid, learning a new word from one of my seedier friends at school. This word is on the ‘naughty list’ but it fits well with the classic song, “Chitty, Chitty, Bang, Bang!” And yes, that is the song that I sang – bad word inserted – all the way home from school that day. As I rounded the corner into our cul-de-sac, one of our neighbors happen to be out front gardening. Immediately she called my mom and informed her of my interesting song lyric. In turn, my mother met me out front and said, “Todd. Do you know that that word is one we don’t say. It is a very naughty word and you need to stop using it or else they’ll be consequences.”

She was lovingly firm and the message came across loud and clear. However, I liked how that word sounded and how it fit well with the sing-song that was hopping around in my head. So, instead of obeying my mom, who had disappeared back inside the house, I chose to launch into another and even louder chorus.

Dogs started barking. Neighbors came out with pitch-forks and shovels. Bats flapped violently from leafless trees. OK, I’m exaggerating but it was a dark point when my mom stormed out of the front door, grabbed me by the back of my collar and dragged me directly to THE ROOM. Yes. You know which room about which I’m talking about. The Bathroom.

I took my position with my head bent over the sink as my mom grabbed the bar of soap. Holding it up, she said what every parent says before they discipline their child, “This is going to hurt me more than it hurts you!”

As I saw the look of determination on her face and her white knuckles clenching the Dove, a demonic voice crackled from my lips and I said, “You’re a LIAR!” Not one of my banner days of communication.

God allowed that pain in my life for a reason, for a purpose. That purpose on that day was for me to learn first, not to disobey my mom and second, not ever to buy bars of Dove soap

Peace!

What do YOU think?

