WHY OUR CHILDREN HAVE LOST RESPECT FOR OUR ELDERS


Now, I’m probably going to offend some of you but what Kellie and I saw made me sick. We watched the recent news report on Karen Klein, a 68-year-old grandmother of eight who was verbally bullied by 7th grade kids. The verbal feces that spewed from the forked tongues of these hellions was simply shocking. The whole scene caused me to ask “What has caused our society to allow our children to treat someone so horrifically?”

(Her Story)

I believe it comes down to a few things.

We’ve sent God a-packin. We have pushed God right out the door of our institutional systems. Government, Education and the private sector decided it was easier to succumb to the petty whining of the few rather than stand up and declare the truth that our nation was founded on God’s principles.

We’ve crucified the traditional parent. Why is it that the media outlets seem to think that it’s ok to make fun of and minimize Dads and Moms? Why is it ok to show and lift up non-traditional family situations as ‘normal’ when statistics reveal traditional family situations as being the healthiest in which to raise children?

We’ve devalued LIFE. If we can kill babies and call it ‘health-care’, why not bully our elders and call it ‘fun’? If we can blowup people in our movies, TV shows and games and call it ‘entertainment’, why not round up the elderly, herd them into gas-chambers and call it ‘population cleansing’?

We’ve allowed our kids to be our Kings. If you’re reading this last one and you’re a parent, I want you to repeat after me. “I am their PARENT, not their FRIEND.” If you give Johnny and Susie whatever they want because they cry for it, you are not their parent, you are their vending machine and they will take over. Please, please, please! Discipline your kids! My advise – be strong and courageous. That’s what your kids want and need from you.

Question: What can you do to help your kids see that people matter? Write a comment below …

Peace!

16 thoughts on “WHY OUR CHILDREN HAVE LOST RESPECT FOR OUR ELDERS

  1. caseykurlander says:

    I felt awful after watching that video, but I am glad that Karen Klein is getting somewhat of a happy ending. I think she deserves it and I’m glad that she is donating some of that money to charity and good causes. I wrote an article yesterday about her story and the power of the Internet and social media. Here’s the link if you’d like to check it out:

    http://caseykurlander.wordpress.com/

    Thanks!
    Casey

  2. Paul R. Thompson says:

    As I have told all my kid’s as they were groing up. I am your parent. That is my #1 job. I love you and support you more than you can possibly imagine or understand right now. And becaue that is true I am not trying to be your friend or your peer. And your friends who have parents that do that do not understand that their children deep down do not respect them for giving in and trying to be their friend. They crave direction and limits. And oh by the way when you are older and have your own children, I think you will be grateful that that is the way your mother and I believe.

  3. trish says:

    amen to everything you said. I watched the video on the news and felt the same way….sick! I’ve seen the same behavior in schools and even youth groups. I also feel a lot of it has to do with the shows kids watch and how they talk back to the adults on the shows, and also the video games kids play….so much violence at young ages!

  4. Pamela Maxwell says:

    I recently had to change my TV service. I have to question our society when I look at the channel selection and the types of programming that is considered ‘family’ and then we are surprised at this type of behavior from students. The news channels were an upgrade for my cable provider i.e. not family appropriate. Families have to spend more money to discuss current events and educate their children on how their Christian beliefs and way of life impact their surroundings. It’s no wonder abhorrent behavior is seen as acceptable when kids are exposed to it all the time without correction.

  5. Deb says:

    Reflecting on your post Todd, and reviewing how we conducted ourselves as parents of 3, now responsible adults, our children learned they mattered, and every single human we interacted with, mattered by treating them with respect. . .God created everyone of us and He isn’t finished with any of us until He calls us into His heavenly kingdom. Showing reverence for God, holding Him in highest esteem models worth for everyone and everything He makes.

  6. maureen stoffel says:

    As always your words hit at the issues. The lack of “modeling” behavior for our children. This is so disturbing, Children learn this behavior because of the “modeling” in their lives. Who influences them, how they are treated or how they see others being treated. Sheep gone astray, because the values and expectations are being visually lost generation by generation. I am going to be more forthright about telling someone when I see a good and caring act of Jesus gift in us.
    Blessings, Maureen

  7. Anthony S. Melillo, MD says:

    My children will learn that all people matter through my and my wife’s example and through the example of the mentors we place them under (i.e teachers, coaches).

    Early on in their development, I took my 2 boys on hospital rounds with me. I made them introduce themselves to my patients and ask them how they were feeling. This builds empathy and respect for others.

    I send them to Lutheran South Academy in Houston because their teachers & administrators embody Christian values and the philosophy of “duty to others.”

    I enrolled them in Boy Scouts as well as team sports: baseball, basketball & soccer. These teach them the power of TEAM and importance of co-operation, hardwork and success & failure.

    Bottom line: my boys will be leaders or felons based on their parents efforts or lack of efforts.

    P.S. If one of my boys did to this woman what others had done, I would make them apologize and have them do this woman’s chores every Saturday for a year… Humility, service to others & respect for all mankind.

    • Todd says:

      Anthony, Well said! I love your tri-statement “Humility, service to others and respect for all mankind.” Can you imagine what our world would look like if we truly lived that way?

  8. Denise says:

    We lived in Greece, NY ( a suburb of Rochester, NY) when we were a young married couple (1970s to 1980s) . Itt’s where we joined a church that taught us to be what Iwe call “practicing Christians” , not ” procrastinating Christians”.
    The community was very family oriented at that time. Kodak was the main employer, 3M a smaller employer Churches were places of worship and places where people gather for social activities.

    It saddens me to see this happen in a town we lived in and loved. My take on it involves a bit more:

    1) Mobile society: It’s not unusual for children to be living far away from extended family. They may not have the interaction with multi-generations. Exposé your child to older adults. Volunteer at assisted living or ask seniors to work in the church nursery, youth ministries. Give them the experience of mutual love, respect and relationships
    2) Children today are very media savvy. Everything is electronic. Instead of calling and talking to someone, emails and texts become a way of communication for all ages
    Budget the time, money for your children to talk to gramma and grampa. Use Skype or face to face encounters, if you must use medis.
    3). When family/ friends comes to visit, all technology, books away! Teach then the proper way to interact with all generations. Play games.
    4) Go back to scripture and teach your children to honor their father and mother by the example your set. Be careful what you say about your mom or dad in front of your children when you are irritated about something

    • Lynn Hagerman says:

      That is beautiful! I agree with everything you said. I grew up in Jackson, MS with the same values and we were blessed to raise our two sons there. My heart aches for “lost” children today. I’m praying for Jesus to come back soon!

  9. Ronnie Lovett says:

    Even the smallest of concessions in manners and respectfulness is a diminishment in traditional christian family values. Please have your kids say yes sir, no sir, yes ma’am, and no ma’am. I was mad to see those kids behave that way and was even more disturb that none came to her aid.

  10. julie johnson says:

    Love the Lord Your God

    6:1 These are the commands, decrees and laws the Lord your God directed me to teach you to observe in the land that you are crossing the Jordan to possess, 2 so that you, your children and their children after them may fear the Lord your God as long as you live by keeping all his decrees and commands that I give you, and so that you may enjoy long life. 3 Hear, Israel, and be careful to obey so that it may go well with you and that you may increase greatly in a land flowing with milk and honey, just as the Lord, the God of your ancestors, promised you.

    4 Hear, O Israel: The Lord our God, the Lord is one.[a] 5 Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength. 6 These commandments that I give you today are to be on your hearts. 7 Impress them on your children. Talk about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up. 8 Tie them as symbols on your hands and bind them on your foreheads. 9 Write them on the doorframes of your houses and on your gates.Deuteronomy 6:1-8.

    If we TRULY loved the Lord our God we would NEVER hurt one of his other children, BUT since sin entered into this world, not one of us here on earth can do that perfectly. Christian parents need to teach by example that the Word of God needs to be planted in our hearts and minds by being in the word daily. Without that we have no hope that we, our children and their children after them will fear the Lord our God. 11 For the grace of God has appeared that offers salvation to all people. 12 It teaches us to say “No” to ungodliness and worldly passions, and to live self-controlled, upright and godly lives in this present age, 13 while we wait for the blessed hope—the appearing of the glory of our great God and Savior, Jesus Christ, Titus 2:11-13.

  11. Lynn Hagerman says:

    This message you wrote is completely correct and I applause you for writing it. Yes, we have shoved God out the door, not taught manners to our children, and allow children to be princes and princesses to the point of not being cute. My heart has hurt for the woman in NY who was verbally abused on that bus. Those boys should be diciplined for months and maybe years.

What do YOU think?

