LIFE, LIBERTY AND HAPPINESS?


I love the documents of our country.  The statements of separation from tyranny, the proclamations of the design of our government, they are all brilliant and timeless.  As I was studying the document for the 4th of July – The Declaration of Independence – the little phrase that stuck out was

“We are endowed by our Creator with certain unalienable rights that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness.”

Life? Yes.  Liberty? Absolutely!  Happiness? uh, nope.  We are not guaranteed happiness in this or any other country around the world.  Our declaration states that we are endowed with (or should be endowed with) the PURSUIT of happiness.

Too many in our world feel that it is their right to be happy, that we are entitled to be happy and that our governments should guarantee that we are, happy.  For me, true happiness is not something that is handed to me on a platter.  I find happiness in honoring God through personal productivity, adding value and leadership to others, and reaching the personal goals toward which I strive.

My opinion is that the world’s governments can provide opportunities and environments in which I can choose to pursue happiness, but they cannot provide happiness itself.  History shows that happiness is simply a choice found in personal responsibility and pursuit.

I’d love to hear what you think on this!  Please comment below…

Peace!

4 thoughts on “LIFE, LIBERTY AND HAPPINESS?

  1. Lynn Hagerman says:

    Todd, I agree completely. We are a “give me” society which equates happiness with only material things. Adults, as well as children are spoiled and appreciate less than when I was growing up in the 50’s. All of us” Oldsters” like to say the good ole days were the best and part of that is true. We live in a sinful world and the only way we can be totally secure, appreciative and happy is to put our trust in Jesus. All the bad things that happen can be eased by Him.

    • Wilma says:

      Do you mind quioaficatiln I figure a few of your posts as slow as I award with trust and sources back to your site? My blog is in the dreadfully similar conditions of interest as yours and my visitors would positively avoid preliminary a lot of the information you present by this time. Delight consent to me equate qualification this alright with you. Thanks!

What do YOU think?

