WHY I WANT TO STAY DEEP IN DEBT


Several years ago, my wife and I made a choice to cut down our debt.  Using Dave Ramsey’s “baby steps,” we paid off 30k in credit and car debt within 8 months.  It was hard. It took ‘gazelle like’ intensity but we did it and it felt great.  But there is one debt that we didn’t and hopefully won’t ever pay-off.  Believe it or not, it is a debt that God says should always be outstanding.

The bible says in Romans 13:8,

“Let no debt remain outstanding, except the continuing debt to love one another.” 

Love is a debt and people around me are the creditors.  Just as financial debt requires payment, so too does the debt of Love to others.  The difference is this: With credit debt, I have to pay it off.  With Love debt, I get to.  With my mortgage, car and student loans, I have to send the checks.  With my Love debt, I get to serve and add value to people in my circles.  With money debt, I pay it off.  With Love debt, I accumulate more.

To me, that’s the best debt of all!

Question.  What are some ways that you can pay toward your debt of LOVE today?  Write a comment below …

Peace!

What do YOU think?

