WHEN MY CALENDAR CRACKED


It was a full day for me.  I didn’t plan it that way.  I didn’t want it that way.  I had several writing projects that needed to get done so I told the office I was going to hide in the corner of a local coffee shop and crank them out.  However, plans change.

Soon after the only scheduled meeting, a “fire” occurred that needed my attention.  After putting out the flames, there was some followup and correspondence that needed to happen.  Then, before packing up my laptop, I glanced at email.  An hour later, that quick glance landed me another delay in my writing.  Now I can get to at least a bit of the writing I thought.  Just then, someone popped into my office to say hello and ask a question about an upcoming weekend event.  By the time I hit the coffee shop, I was in the drive through on my way home.  My calendar had CRACKED.  Here are a few observations:

  1. Everything I did on that day I enjoyed.  I like working with my team to solve problems.  I like communicating and making decisions that help move our organization forward.  I like talking with people and process the importance of why we do what we do.  But there is a time and place for everything – even the things I enjoy.
  2. What I didn’t do was have margin in my calendar.  I’ll often run one meeting up against another only to find the first meeting going late which backs up everything else.  Jesus was busy but not hurried.  He always found time for the person who need help.  He always had time to be with his followers and teach them how to change the world.  He had Margin.
  3. I also said ‘yes’ to everything.  Looking back, there were many things I did that I didn’t need to do.  I didn’t prioritize the importance of the writing projects.  I didn’t say ‘no’ to a few phone calls that came in or the twitter beeps that danced across my iPhone.

I did finish my projects – at least to a level that I felt comfortable.  But what I learned and will keep learning is that there are days when calendars explode or at least, crack.  The question is, do I have enough bumper in my time to endure the blast.

What do you do when your calendar cracks?

Peace

3 thoughts on “WHEN MY CALENDAR CRACKED

  1. Nancy Haas says:

    I know that God has a plan for us each and every day, and it is always way better then we could have ever planned. The best part of that is he always put the people we most need right there beside us and just the right time:] Have a wonderful weekend! Nancy in S. D.

  2. Candace Bettendorf says:

    I was told once that interruptions are God’s plan for our day.  🙂
    Candace BettendorfGod is our refuge and strength. Psalm 46:1.— comment-reply@wordpress.com wrote:From: Todd Stocker’s Blog <comment-reply@wordpress.com>To: candyrae@dishup.usSubject: [New post] WHEN MY CALENDAR CRACKEDDate: Fri, 17 Aug 2012 11:50:03 +0000

    Todd posted: “It was a full day for me.  I didn’t plan it that way.  I didn’t want it that way.  I had several writing projects that needed to get done so I told the office I was going to hide in the corner of a local coffee shop and crank them out.  However, p”

What do YOU think?

