THE SECRET TO LASTING


If you’re one of my regular readers and have subscribed to my blog you know that my customary writing frequency is 2-3x posts per week.  If you’ve noticed, the past few weeks have been less because I’ve violated one of my principles of time management.  The secret to lasting, whether you are a field worker, engineer, cook, executive or pastor is remembering to carve out moments to be refreshed.

This time of year, our church organization ramps up to begin another season of ministry and it is a time of long hours, heavy schedules and a multiplicity of meetings.  Events take their seats on my bus of priority and often, rest is in the back.

Here’s what I’ll be returning to today.  It’s a phrase that is the secret to lasting.

“Divert daily, withdraw weekly, retreat monthly and abandon annually”

Daily, take a break from your normal routine.  12-14 hours is too long to be focused on one type of work.

Weekly, find a place that you can spend time doing an activity that refreshes you.  For me, it’s outdoors or in a quiet spot to do some writing.

Monthly, pull away from the grind and change your setting.  I’ve loved to take a day tarrying along the aisles in antique stores in river towns like Hudson or Stillwater.

Annually, I try to pack a bag and hide away for an extended period in a cabin or some other place completely removed from familiarity.

In these times, God meets me.  He encourages me.  He gives me direction and strength.  For me, that is the secret to lasting.

What do you do to relax and refresh?

Peace!

7 thoughts on “THE SECRET TO LASTING

  1. Lynn Hagerman says:

    body{font-size:10pt;font-family:arial,sans-serif;background-color:#ffffff;color:black;}p{margin:0px;}

    That is wonderful advice….sounds so refreshing to me. Lynn

What do YOU think?

