Brokenness Can Be Beautiful


kintsukuroiI Tumblr-ed upon an ancient art called “Kintsukuroi,” a Japanese word which means “to repair with gold.”  Simply, the artist takes pottery that has been broken and fills in those gaps with gold or silver making the piece more beautiful that its original state.

So it is with frail humanity.  Originally created for a purpose.  Broken by the impact of our choices, desires and pride.  Reassembled by the Master Artist.  Filled in with the golden breath of Life.  And now put on display as spiritual Kintsukuroi.

All of us are reminded of our brokenness day to day.  Many chalk it up to simply living in a sinful world.  Others to bad genes.  But God sees the brokenness in your life and lacquers His love in the cracks of your life.

Even in brokenness, you are more beautiful because of you completeness in Christ.

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. – 2 Cor. 12:9

Question:  How did this post help you?

Peace!

 signature

7 thoughts on “Brokenness Can Be Beautiful

  1. Lynn Hagerman says:

    body{font-size:10pt;font-family:arial,sans-serif;background-color:#ffffff;color:black;}p{margin:0px;}The pride part hit home with me. I have always considered myself well-organized…house, activities, etc.  Well, my pride came crashing down this past Saturday.  Dave’s group at work gave us tickets to a musical at the Hobby Theater as a Christmas present.  The concert was this past Saturday…matinee.  I went to the drawer where I stored them and guess what? They weren’t there.  I tore into every drawer in our bedroom but to no avail.  I cried like a two year old, sitting on the floor just sobbing.  We have our house on the market…everything has to be perfect in the house; I had come off a week of waiting for the results of a super-duper CT scan. (turned out fine).  While cleaning, I probably tossed the tickets, not looking carefully at them.  At that point I shared with Dave and younger son, Greg, that my pride of being the “goddess of organization” blew up in my face.  My attitude is a bit different now.   I’m still very sad that we had to miss the musical.Lynn

  2. Carissa Schneider says:

    Amazing! In my personal devotion time last night I was reading about a woman who was so filled with grief at the loss of her daughter she smashed a pitcher to pieces. After the heat of the moment passed, she painstakingly glued all those pieces together and similar to your post she saw how her brokenness was mirrored in the now cracked pitcher but she was ready to be used again, filled up by God for his purposes. God doesn’t care that our “pitchers” are not perfect, in fact he uses our brokenness to fulfill his plans for us. Thank you for always affirming what God is trying to teach me.

What do YOU think?

