God’s Wedding Vows


Timagehe thirty foot high palm trees are gently swaying over the resort pool and I am mesmerized by the early morning Arizona sun, dancing on the surrounding mountains.  Phoenix in August seems like a strange arrangement in which to host a wedding but the benefits I’m finding far outweigh the heat.

My niece is marrying a wonderful guy.  Getting to know his family has been a joy.  We are finding out how many common people-connections we have and how many places we’ve shared.  This morning, however, through my devotional time, God impresses upon me the best connection that our two families have – the connection of faith through Jesus.  I realize that while this wedding bring us together for the event of celebration, we are already bonded to each other through what Jesus did for us!

So this afternoon as they say their vows to each other, it will remind me of the vow God said to me, “I will never leave you nor forsake you … I have grafted you in to my family and you are mine … For better, for worse, in sickness and in health, I will be yours and you will always be Mine.”

By the way, congratulations to Mike and Kyrie on this, their wedding day!

Peace!

 signature

What do YOU think?

