The Value of Work


8 Labor-Day

ashton-kutcher-teen-choice-awards

Ashton Kutcher, Teen Choice Awards, 2013

Did you know that your work is a gift. As frustrating, random and meaningless as it may feel, your work is a gift. We’ve seemed to have lost that truth in recent culture. The refrains of our society echo “entitlement” and “you deserve this” rather that lifting up the value of hard work.

Ashton Kutcher’s comments at the Teen Choice Awards a few months ago sparked a national “hurray” for those of us in generations that had work ethic. He said,

“I believe that opportunity looks a lot like hard work. I’ve never had a job in my life that I was better than. I was always just lucky to have a job. And every job I had was a steppingstone to my next job, and I never quit my job until I had my next job.”

It’s true. Working hark is beneficial. Sometimes financially, but most times holistically. Not everyone wins. Not everyone gets a trophy. And as grandpa always said,

“Anything worth getting is worth working for.”

So those of us who have been given the title “parent,” consider your role in developing a thriving work ethic in your kids. Help them discover, develop and deploy their God-given abilities and let them know that working hard is pleasing to our God.

Ecclesiastes 5:18-20 “It is good for people to … enjoy their work … And it is a good thing to receive wealth from God and the good health to enjoy it. To enjoy your work and accept your lot in life—that is indeed a gift from God.”

(Click Here for another post relating to Procrastination and work).

Peace!

 signature

One thought on “The Value of Work

What do YOU think?

