The 9-11 Space


Dust_covered_911_victimsI remember the day well.  I walked into my office and noticed that some of the other staff were already gathered there, quietly watching the 9-11 attacks unfold, on the mounted corner TV.  I joined them in disbelief.

After a few moments, someone said that they’ll set up a tv in our gathering room and throughout the day, we could watch the horrific events in there.  It was “in there” that I spent the rest of the day absorbing with disbelief that hate could take wing and desimate people’s lives and bruise our countries thick skin.

You remember where you were in times of tragedy.  Driving by an intersection brings memories of a loss that happened there.  Generations before me remember where they were when they heard of the Pearl Harbor attacks or the news that their son was killed in action.

Spaces are spiritual in that way.  Environments can recall feelings that are tucked away and memories are attached to the visualization of the ‘when and where.’  Even today, as I think about our staff huddled around that TV, I also remember that God is timeless and without borders.  He is not relegated to one environment and is not bound by memories of the past.   That is why I can trust Him in all things.  He knows the number of my days and the environments through which I will move.  911-wtc-crossHe sees the joys and tragedies that I will encounter and He promises to walk with me through them all.  The Lord is there.  He moves in the bright light of the day and the muted darkness of the night.  That’s called trust.  That’s called faith.  That’s called hope.

“Yeah though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil; for you are with me.”  Psalm 23

Peace!

 signature

3 thoughts on “The 9-11 Space

  1. Lynn Hagerman says:

    body{font-size:10pt;font-family:arial,sans-serif;background-color:#ffffff;color:black;}p{margin:0px;}Wanted you to know that I ordered two of your books today:  Dancing with God and Manners Matter for children.  I look forward to reading them and then passing the manners book off to son and daughter-in-law.  I am a stickler for table manners.Lynn

  2. nancyhaas says:

    You are so right in what you have written. I will be sending this to my sons. One in Denver, and one just two weeks ago moved to Portland, Oregon. After living in China for 11 years:]

What do YOU think?

