We Just Eat Crumbs


IMG_0736Yesterday, our family ate dinner downstairs by the fireplace, which has been more the normal than the occasion in this blustery winter-time. I found myself watching my dog Jack, scramble for the few crumbs that drifted off our plates. His attention, however, was not on us, but was set on the floor at our feet. A crumb of bread here, a piece of cheese there and he pounced on each one.

Because I love this little guy, I would have been glad to give Him way more than the little crumbles, but he never looked up at me in relationship, only at the ground in want.

It occurred to me that often, I am that way. I am constantly scanning the ground around me, looking and waiting for the blessings that may dribble from the plate of God. I guess, most of society is that way too. Only wanting what God gives and not God himself. We desire the goodness of God but are not willing to simply look into His face and know Him first. I think that if we did, our desire for the crumbs would be blanketed by the outpouring of His riches.

Grace gives more than we can ask or deserve.

“Even the dogs eat the crumbs from the Masters table.”  Matthew 15:27

Peace!

 signature

2 thoughts on “We Just Eat Crumbs

  1. Lynn Hagerman says:

    body{font-size:10pt;font-family:arial,sans-serif;background-color:#ffffff;color:black;}p{margin:0px;}That’s beautiful Todd.  Our little Maltese, Candie, is a begger at the table and even if she’s had her meal in the bowl, she wants what we have.  Being only 5 pounds we have to be careful.  Aren’t these pups good for our bones?  God made smalll dogs to comfort us and the large ones for work and hunting.  Getting back to your subject, yes, we keep our eyes down, looking for the crumbs.Your faithful reader,Lynn

What do YOU think?

