How NOT to accomplish your goals


Enjoying pure freedom | Man on a jettyA friend of mine has jumped on the weight loss journey. I hadn’t seen this person for a few weeks but knew that she was significantly lighter than before. When I did see her, she looked great. I could tell, even as a guy, that she had lost a decade of pounds. My natural inclination was to say, “You look great! I heard how much you lost.” But instead I chose a different bent and said, “You look great! I heard how much you gained!” She obviously looked at me with one eyebrow jetting up and the other frowning down revealing both her confusion and irritation. Then I said, “Yes. You’ve gained beauty. You’ve gained confidence. You’ve gained comfort.”  She smiled.

You see, the problem with New Years resolutions is that they tend to focus on the negative and not the positive. We sprinkle our statements with words like “lose” “stop” and “quit.” I think that is a wrong mindset and why statistically most people fail at their resolutions by January 15th. The Bible says that we are to think and focus on whatever is good, healthy positive and helpful (click to read the verse).  That is where true change happens. That is where the vision of your goal is energized.

So as you think and plan for this next year, write down the “gains” and not the “losses.” Don’t lose the weight, gain the comfort. Don’t stop bad eating, gain healthy options. Don’t fear change, embrace progress. Remember that God gives us a new start every year but more importantly, every morning!

________________________________________________

break through weight loss(note from Todd:  “This past year I gained all of the above by dropping 40 pounds.  I wrote about it in a short ebook.  You can check it out by clicking the link below.  Several people have already achieved their goals using the 5 keys.  If you have read the ebook, I’d love to hear your feedback.  Make a comment on Amazon.  It’d really help others.  Thanks!)

CLICK HERE for “Break Through Weight Loss”

Peace!

 signature

One thought on “How NOT to accomplish your goals

  1. egswanso@comcast.net says:

    Dear Pastor Todd, Happy New Year and God’s Blessings. I am interested in buying your book, Break Through Weight Loss. However, we do not have a Kindle, we have a Nook. Is there any other way I might be able to get a copy of this. Thank you and have a wonderful day. Gerry Swanson

What do YOU think?

