How To Know Your Future – Todd Stocker.com


future.001I’ve always been a future thinker.  Some would say too much so.  Now, I don’t dwell on the past and I enjoying living the experiences of the present.   The future, however, fascinates me.  It is ‘coming up’ which in and of itself tempts me with mysteries yet to be experienced.  

Some have said you cannot know the future.  To an extent, I believe them.  Specifics of events and unexpected twists and turns wave into our lives without a glimpse of warning.  But I reject the notion that ‘you can’t know your future’ because if I believe that statement 100%, I become a flimsy puppet being pulled by the strings of whatever comes.  I am doomed to live a life with no hope, no expectation and no motivation.  

No thanks!

I submit to you that you can know your future.  Jesus even told us how. 

“When the Spirit of truth comes, he will guide you into all truth. He will not speak on his own but will tell you what he has heard. He will tell you about the future.John 16:13 NLT.

I read that again for the first time this morning and my heart jumped.  The main joy of God’s Holy Spirit is to bring you into a saving relationship with Jesus, but another of his joys is to guide you in all aspects of life — including the future.  He speaks in the quiet of the morning to give you next steps, to help you find answers and to give you peace.  If you’re not a spiritual person, the sense that you should be doing ’this or that’ and those ‘gut feelings’ are God’s Holy Spirit helping you along (just so you know:) ).  

That’s why I’ve been working in a church for 17 years.  That’s why I’ve been blogging for 6 years.  That’s why I recently started the Take Back Your Life Podcast: To help people realize there is always hope and that you have the choice to make your life better in the future, all guided by His Spirit.  

So to know your future, be wise by looking at your past and present successes and failures.  Invest a few minutes in prayer before the last drop of your first morning coffee.  Seek wise advice from God-following folks and you too can know your future.  

“The best way to predict your future is to create it” – Abraham Lincoln

Peace!

first name signature transparent small

What do YOU think?

