Why Relationships Are My Candles – Todd Stocker.com


relationshipAs of yesterday, I’ve been on the globe a half century. Pardon my stroll, but over this chunk of my history, I’ve cycled through multiple educational systems and won a few accolades. I’ve held jobs from delivering pizza to restoring antiques to working as a flight attendant among others. I’ve circled the world, climbed mountains and snorkeled off the coasts of Hawaii and the Dominican Republic. I’ve written books, been on TV and even held my own radio show for a wonderful 3 months.

I’m not rich and I’m not poor. I don’t have “toys” but I’m certainly not bored. I’m healthy, can jog and can read a sign from a good distance away.

As I tally my life, I realize that these trophies on the shelves of my memory make me happy, but they don’t bring joy. What brings me joy — true joy — are the memories and the current interactions with people I love. Relationships trump accomplishments every moment of the day.  Friends are the candles on the birthday cake of life. [Tweet That].

God has graced me with a wife whom I don’t deserve, three kids who have achieved and are accomplishing their dreams, a close circle of guys with whom I can act like a 6th grade boy and a myriad of friends, coworkers and acquaintances who know me well enough to challenge, value and encourage me.

If the next 50 are even a sliver of the past 50, I can’t wait to get started.

“A good man measures his life not in the number of his years but in the quality of his friends.” [Tweet That].

Peace!

first name signature transparent small

What do YOU think?

