038: How To Balance A Home-Based Business And Family – Todd Stocker.com


Eileen asks how to balance a home-based business and her family without feeling guilty.  I offer advice from my past experience but also bring in several other ‘moms’ who give some awesome tips.


ON THIS EPISODE:

I enlisted the help of some other moms who also operate their home-based businesses:

Mom of 4 here: Balance is key. A two hour educational film while you schedule, build, and make calls is ideal. Lunchtime an be park time. Bed time needs to be solid so that 1-2 hours after can be dedicated to planning. – Livi

Stop thinking “balance” – it’s not realistic. Think “BLEND”. Involve them, even a tiny bit. – Mary

I ran my business for the first 5 years without any type of childcare and I’d work at night and during the weekends A LOT but now that my kids are a little older (oldest in school and youngest will be 3 next month), Eileen – that’s a bit like you!  I am ok with having a little childcare and helping things be more balanced. For me, quality of time with my kids trumps quantity because it doesn’t matter if they’re here with me 5 days/week if I’m ignoring them the whole time because I have to get stuff done! I still work a lot after they go to bed and I get by it by knowing that it’s all temporary, in just a few short years BOTH kids will be in school full time and I know I’ll miss worrying about this!! – Jessica

I am a single-parent homeschooling mom to 5 young ones who is starting a VA business. I understand her question!! Mommy guilt will be ever present, but I have found that having solid chunks of time help me to be present in them. For example, I get up at 5am and work for 2 hours. I’m focused wholly on work. Then when kids get up I switch on mom, set aside work and focus on the kids, present with their schooling. I find other chunks of time throughout the day (naptime / electronic time / educational video for example) to be focused on work. I find it helps me be present with my kids when I turn it off. And check social media only at certain designated times. – Sarah

I think you have to accept that you won’t be able to devote full time attention to either, at least not at the same time. When you are working, work, and it has to fit around the schedule of the kids (eating, napping, school, play). When you are with your kids, you aren’t working or on your phone. Set boundaries all around- with clients, yourself, and your kids, so everyone knows the “rules.” But, here’s the thing, you have to be willing to accept the flow that comes with kids. They need you more and less. They get sick. They start school. And, ask for help. In the name of all that is holy, ask for help! lol – Marynka

Summary:

  • It is difficult but you can do it.
  • You have to be strategic.
  • Use the early morning hours of the day.
  • It’s okay to bring someone in to Babysit on a regular schedule.

RESOURCES MENTIONED:

One thought on “038: How To Balance A Home-Based Business And Family – Todd Stocker.com

  1. Eileen Demulling says:

    This is fantastic!! I love all of the advice given and will definitely be implementing several things mentioned. Thank you for this!!

What do YOU think?

